One-Stop Destination to Get Every Detail About SSC CGL

Among so many competitive examinations conducted by the administration for government jobs, SSC CGL is also the one. The expanded form of SSC CGL is Staff Selection Commission—Combined Graduate Level, an examination carried out by the Staff Selection Commission.  Recruitments to various job titles of Group B and C in the different ministries, organizations, and departments owned by the Government of India, are made.

Once the candidate clears the exam and gets their SSC CGL result,  he/she requires clearing some other rounds, which may be a PI round, i.e., a personal interview which has been discontinued, for now, a Medical Examination, or Physical Endurance Test. Now that we know what the particular exam is all about, let us get ourselves a little more delved into the details like eligibility, result, and exam tiers.

Eligibility For The Exam?

  • Only for individuals holding the citizenship of India
  • A Graduate Degree from any University accepted by the Indian Government
  • NOTE: If you are in the final year, then also you can apply.
  • Must be of 20 years age; the age bar was set to 27 previously, but now it has been extended to 30 years.

Selection Criterion

There are four tiers or phrases you can say in this examination, i.e.,

  • Tier 1
  • Tier 2
  • Tier 3
  • Tier 4

Out of these four Tiers, the first two are conducted online and consist of only Objective Type Questions. In contrast, the last two tiers, i.e., tier 3 and tier 4, are offline exams that test based on Descriptive (Explanatory) Format and Computer-Based Proficiency, respectively.  However, it is not required to appear in tier 4 examination for all the students; it is only mandatory for the positions that require computer knowledge and skills.

Subjects in Syllabus

The syllabus is again also mainly similar to other cutthroat Examinations. However, all the tiers vary in exam pattern and syllabus with each other.

The very first tier of the SSC CGL exam which includes questions from:

  • General awareness for sure including the current affairs
  • English Comprehension
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • Reasoning and General Intelligence

Each section consists of 25 Problems and holds 50 marks on a whole.

Tier 2, has three sections with each comprising of 100 questions and 200 maximum marks. It tests Quantitative Ability, Statistics for Finance and Economics, and English Language and Comprehension of the candidates.

Lastly, tier 3 and tier 4, as said earlier, test your descriptive writing like Essay, Letter, application, and précis writing and computer proficiency.

Cut-offs that might Sweat you off

Like most of the other competitive examinations, SSC CGL is also based on cutoffs.SSC CGL cut off generally goes high because of the increasing number of aspirants and less no. of seats in UPSC. Why I said UPSC well it is because a considerable number of aspirants appear in UPSC, but sadly, the probabilities of securing a position being on lower side unable them to make it to the listing and hence they usually go for a much more comfortable alternative for them and that is what SSC CGL.

With this, I mark the end of this article, hoping that I covered most of the general questions that every student has in their minds. Lastly, if you are preparing for the one, don’t get yourself bothered of the SSC CGL cut off; instead, get yourself prepared with better strategies.

Back to top button